U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Skip to main content

Expert Field Medical Badge

Thank you for visiting the Expert Field Medical Badge (EFMB) web page. We hope this site helps units and individuals plan and prepare for the EFMB. Please take the time to view each section and understand where to locate items you may find useful. Feel free to contact us if you have feedback on your experience with this page or would like to see any other resources provided.


***See below for the draft Medical Center of Excellence (MEDCoE) Pamphlet (PAM) 350-10, 14 June 2022.***

Units and candidates should utilize this document for all future planning purposes. 


Soldiers and leaders should be wary about utilizing EFMB study material obtained from sources other than this website. The EFMB TCO is consistently observing sites and candidates using material that is not applicable for EFMB testing. Much of the material available on other websites is outdated or irrelevant for EFMB testing purposes. BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU USE TO PREPARE! At this time we recommend utilizing the references on the "Written Test" tab to study for the EFMB written test. These materials are also available on each EFMB Written Test Blackboard site in the "References & Resources" section.

Purpose of EFMB Testing

The Department of the Army approved the Expert Field Medical Badge (EFMB), a special skill award for recognition of exceptional competence and outstanding performance by field medical personnel, on 18 June 1965.

Personnel eligible to earn the EFMB include all officers assigned or detailed to an Army Medical Department (AMEDD) Corps, Army officers in training at the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, Army officers enrolled in the Health Professions Scholarship Program, Warrant Officers who have an AMEDD primary military occupational specialty (MOS) controlled by the Surgeon General, Warrant Officer pilots that have a special qualification identifier "D" (Aeromedical Evacuation Pilot) and are assigned to an air ambulance unit, and Enlisted personnel who have an MOS in the 68- Career Management Field (CMF) as well as an AMEDD primary MOS, MOS18D, or 38BW4.


Candidate Eligibility Requirements

In order to be an EFMB candidate, Service Members must meet the following requirements:

  • Volunteer for EFMB Testing.
  • Be recommended by their unit commander.
  • Be physically and mentally prepared to cope with the rigorous demands of the EFMB test and trained in the prevention of heat related injuries.
  • Qualify as Expert on their individual weapon dated within one year of EFMB testing.
  • Possess a current Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) certification. The certification must be valid through the final day of EFMB testing.
  • Meet standards outlined in AR 600-9.
  • Must not be flagged IAW AR 600-8-2.

Note: Please contact the host unit OIC/NCOIC to ensure you are submitting all required documents. Examples of the required documents are located under the “Resources” tab and contact information for the host units can be found under the “EFMB Schedule” tab.

History of Expert Field Medical Badge


Prior to the establishment of the Expert Field Medical Badge, some AMEDD units of V Corps in Europe developed and conducted tests to ensure their Soldiers were trained to the highest level of proficiency required of their wartime mission. These tests lasted for 2 1/2 days and consisted of written and practical exercises (identification of types of wounds, bandaging, application of splints, treatment of war casualties, removal of injured personnel from tanks, loading and unloading of patients from helicopters, map reading, aerial photo reading and maintenance of equipment). If the Soldiers passed the test, they were issued a "Expert Medical Soldier Certificate". These tests were apparently the forerunner of the EFMB test.

MG Duncan, Chief of Staff, US Continental Army Command recommended establishment of an Expert Field Medical Badge as a Department of the Army special skill award for recognition of exceptional competence and outstanding performance by field medical personnel in a letter to Deputy Chief of Staff for Personnel, (DCSPER), dated 20 January 1964, in accordance with correspondence between General Waters and General Heaton, The Surgeon General.  (DCSPER and the Army Chief of Staff for Force Development (ACSFOR) did not favorably consider an earlier request in 1963 for the same badge.) On 14 May 1964, DCSPER tentatively approved the recommendation, subject to Headquarters US Continental Army Command and ACSFOR`s development and submission of criteria. DSCPER received the design of the badge, with criteria for the award, by Summary Sheet on 2 February 1965, and returned it without action on 27 February 1965 due to pending further study of questions posed by the Vice Chief of Staff, US Army. DCSPER advised Commander, The Institute of Heraldry (TIOH), US Army, by Disposition Form (DF), dated 6 July 1965, of the approved Summary Sheet, dated 18 June 1965, establishing an Expert Field Medical Badge.  TIOH took on the responsibility of preparing the necessary Army Regulation and commencing action on procurement of the new badge.  A reproduction sample of the Expert Field Medical Badge was approved on 8 December 1965. The badge was oxidized silver consisting of a stretcher placed horizontally behind a caduceus with a cross of the Geneva Convention at the junction of the wings, 15/16 inch high and 1 7/17 inches long.  The badge has not changed since its inception. AR 672-10, dated 1 March 1966, prescribed the authority for the award of the badge. Current Regulations: AMEDDC&S HRCOE PAM 350-10, dated 1 March 2019.

Today, the EFMB test is the utmost challenge to the professional competence and physical endurance of the Soldier medic. It is the most sought after peacetime award in the AMEDD, and while the Combat Medical Badge is the "portrait of courage" in wartime, the Expert Field Medical Badge is undoubtedly the "portrait of excellence" in the Army all of the time.

MEDCoE PAM 350-10 and Policy Updates